See below

April 9, 2006

I did actually download, install and run Rockbox on my iPod (the software that allows you to play Doom and Halflife on the iPod, as shown in the video below). It is indeed very neat. However, I do really enjoy listening to my music in an organized fashion, and being able to watch videos as well. Rockbox does not allow me to do that. However, it adds a ton of games, directory creation support, many very cool themes and “While Playing Screens” and also a text editor. The last feature was a bit shoddy to me. Still, the development is not quite finished with something they can put out to the vast majority. The install requires you to run a command prompt in Windows and run a series of commands. Not hard for me at all, but terribly daunting to someone like Jill. People who havent really gotten in to this type of hacking would be scared to death that they would screw up their iPod; and then they’d screw up their iPod.

So is Rockbox still on my iPod? Yes and no. I have the files still on, but the bootloader is gone. All it takes though is a quick command and it’s right back on and working. I look foward to seeing a more powerful, fully featured version, but I fear it may take iPod Linux to accomplish what I want. Not that that’s a bad thing, it just may take six months or so to do.

Leave a Reply

