Flesh of my Flesh

June 10, 2006

We have guests. One of the families in our church was displaced by hurricane Katrina, and they liked the suburbs of Chicago so much that they moved here. However, their stuff didn’t exactly come with them.

Meet the Flesh children. Ken Flesh is the one I’ve gotten to know the most. He’s pretty cool, and he reminds me a lot of Zachary Collins. We’ve been playing Mario Strikers after I get off work, and while I am working I show him how Flock works, what extensions are, and just how some stuff works in general. It’s pretty cool. He, along with his sisters Karen and Rebbecca, really enjoys my iPod. I’ve never seen the battery life go down so fast on it, they just play with all the features and stuff. I haven’t really gotten to know his sisters, who are 13 and 10, I think. I actually don’t know any of their ages, but Ken is definitely the most mature.

Work has been keeping me busy. I’m getting used to all the things they are having me do. Lloyd looks for quality responses to support questions, so it can take up to an hour to draft one (determine the problem, look up bugs/file a bug, write response, edit it, bounce it off Lloyd, edit it, etc) , whereas if I wasn’t officially working and was just responding, it might only take me ten minutes (maybe it’s this, I think there’s a bug in the system on it, post). I am definitely getting faster at it though, which is something I am working on very hard. And even though I’ve taken courses like Revisions, all of this is teaching me to become a better writer (formally, you’re not going to see too much improvement here for a while 🙂 ). All of these little tips and tricks that make responding to people more effective.

One big issue that has been raised is that Avast blocks some features of Flock, most notably the photobar. I have no clue why this is, and I would like to tinker a little bit and see what makes the photobar request photos differently than just browsing to the person’s stream. I could probably just ask the developers and save myself a lot of time. Anyway, I spent a good part of today just figuring out what part of Avast was actually blocking the photobar. Turns out it was the Web Shield, which is essentially a firewall (standard shield is technically the firewall).

It is now raining in Naperville.

Windows Wireless Manager has been ticking me off. Well, that’s not entirely true, but it is part of the problem. It seems that WWM doesn’t know how to handle a range extender. As a result, I will connect to the router, and WWM will immediately switch to the extender downstairs. I switched to D-Link’s manager, and it works a little better. I get much fewer disconnects with it, but I still get disconnects. My laptop stays connected and on just fine though, running Xubuntu.

I am really impressed with Ubuntu Dapper Drake, I cannot emphasize this more. I could teach Jill how to use it even (maybe). I have only encountered one problem, and it is probably just my inexperience with Linux that keeps me from figuring this one out. The drivers for my video card are in a package called Linux Restricted Modules. I can install the graphics drivers perfectly, but the package comes with madwifi and some other stuff that screws up my wireless connection. Gotta figure out how to get rid of those, but keep the ATI drivers. Then I am golden. That’s right, Daniel Lackey = Au. Really. No, not really.

The World Cup started today. Oh, you didn’t realize? You live in America? Shame. Germany whooped Costa Rica, 4-2, but Costa Rica went down smiling. They were happy to get the two goals. And then, in quite a shock to me, Poland lost to Ecuador. I don’t know about either team really, but I would have thought that Poland would win.

Didn’t see either game live, sadly. Luckily, we have Tivo. Our neighbors are taking the MONTH off of work to watch the matches. I feel that is ridiculous. Insanely devoted, but ridiculous. I’ll pull for my country, out of necessity, but I’m not expecting America to go far. It’s like expecting Kenya to beat Canada in hockey; it ain’t gonna happen.

I don’t get why America isn’t big in to soccer really. MLS games have pitiful attendance. I bet if you asked people on the street, 3/10 wouldn’t know what the World Cup is, and 5/10 wouldn’t know we had a team competing in it. Kinda sad really. Don’t get me wrong, youth soccer is pretty big in the south, and also in Michigan. Not sure about here in Illinois. But we just don’t have a national passion for the sport the way we do for football (I could post about the Lions, and all of the moves that they are making, but that might be a bit long).

My pick for winning it: Brazil. The team just looks solid. I have always pulled for them, even when I was really young and had no clue what significance the World Cup held, and I’ll stick to pulling for them. A few people were predicting a Germany v Brazil final in the Flock IRC  and in other conversations today. That would be an amazing match.

Go watch the Muppet Movie. Seriously, it’s out on DVD now. Go out and pick up a copy, watch it, and just feel happy.

Life is a movie, write your own ending
Keep believing, keep pretending

technorati tags:, , , , ,

Blogged with Flock

Leave a Reply

