Money money money money….

June 25, 2006

MONEY!

Got that song, and “Mrs. Robinson” (kukukatchu…) stuck in my head. Have no idea why.

Today was pretty relaxing. The family went to Downers Grove (a suburb near here, always thought the name sounded like a place stoners would go to pass out) for their heritage festival. Really, it had nothing to do with their heritage, but more with all of the businesses and organizations in the area. Ate at a sweet Mexican restaurant, complete with giant chicken mascot dude walking around.

During lunch, my parents told me that since I saved them a bunch of money by switching to the apartment, they are happy to pay my rent next year. This relieves quite a bit of financial stress on me. Everything I make with Flock and babysitting this summer is, essentially, disposable income. Not going to use it that way, because I do have some things that need to be payed for (car repairs, food, furniture [I think we may need a new futon, the leopard thing may have to be moved in to a bedroom] and general expenses). So taking out the living expenses that I will face, I will still have a decent amount to entertain my impulse buyingness that occasionally stirs up (yes I need a drywall cutting kit from eBay, I don’t care if I can go to Walmart to get it).

I spent a good portion of the day making money in Guild Wars, because I’m going after the status symbol armor in game. After I got done with that, I turned my attention to taxes (gasp).

The way I am employed is a bit odd. I mentioned it earlier, but technically, I am not employed by Flock. I am an independent contractor whom Flock pays for services rendered to them. By legal definition, I am self employed. This mean I have to file taxes a bit differently, and honestly, I can’t tell where to begin. I spent an hour looking at various forms, including 3 different 1040 forms, none of which seemed to relate to each other. That and each form referred to a different form to be filled out, which meant I had to find that form, read it, and find all the other forms that it referred to. In the end, I am a wee bit wiser, but still confused what I need to do. Luckily, the internet has many resources, and I am sure that there is some retired tax accountant who doesn’t mind giving free advice and help. I just have to find him. If push comes to shove, there are always tax accountants that we know (well, my dad knows) that can help.

I regret not bringing home some of my books from college. I’ve got a Jonesing to read over some material in my business law book, and also from my Sysytems and Methods book. All I have is my construction estimating book, which I may look over a few times next week.

By no means are these posts digestible. It’s like swallowing a Giordano’s pizza whole.

Soccer: I know Germany won. I’ve been trying hard not to find out the final score since I have the match tivod

Wootbar update: no progress. Neither Bakke or I know exactly how to write the extension, so we’ve been ripping open other extensions to see how they work. On a related note, nobody comments their extensions…

Ubuntu gripe: Ubuntu has stopped recognizing my wireless card. No clue why, just stopped.

Music I’m grooving: Cowboy Bebop OST, especially the songs “Spy,” “Fantasie Sign,” “What Planet Is This?!” “Too Good Too Bad,” and “Blue”

Political mini-rant: We’ve found 500 shells of mustard and sarin gas (only 3 of these shells killed over 5000 people), and 500 tons of uranium a fair amount of it low-enriched. The WMDs were there.

Soccer rant: People are saying America was overrated in the World Cup. Why was anyone hopeful for them? I was pulling for them, but my expectations weren’t high. America in the World Cup is like Egypt competing in a hockey tourney.

Every night as I am falling asleep, I drive to Houghton in my mind. I’m halfway there right now.

My mind is messed up, I hear my voice as Zach Braff in my head. Seriously messed up.

OK kiddies, I’m heading to bed. Coast to Coast AM is about to come on, so it’s aliens and ghosts and conspiracy theories to lull me to sleep…

Blogged with Flock

Leave a Reply

