Vista and Flock

June 28, 2006

Today was a bad day for me technologically. What went wrong:

  • Wireless router went wacko, causing me to disconnect every 5 minutes
  • Installed RMA’d DVD writer, which apparently caused my XP install to need to be activated again
  • Wouldn’t you know it, I can’t activate with my 100% legit key anymore, because I have used it to reinstall more than 5 times
  • None of the cracks worked
  • Haha, it’s all a funny joke right? My RMA’d DVD writed doesn’t work. Or does it?
  • First install of Vista failed miserably

What went right:

  • Second install of Vista went well
  • Got my DVD writer working. The DVD I was testing was just poorly burned (should still be able to read it though…)
  • Router calmed down without me touching it

So, how is Vista? Meh. That’s the only term I can come up with right now. I love the visual themes, and there are some neat gadgets (widgets to Mac users, and Mac didn’t come up with them, so don’t start that crap). However, the install was about 45 minutes, which is ridiculous to me. I can get XP up in 30, and Kubuntu up in 20.

I do like the fact that the install process is a lot more hands off. Of course, this is only the beta. And there is more security built in to the OS by default. There are confirmations for almost everything (which can get annoying at times) and bundled with Vista is Defender and Windows Firewall.

What I don’t really like is the fact that about half of my devices were not supported by default. Once I got stuff set up, everything worked, so I’ll chalk this up to betaness.

Navigation has been redesigned. The start menu is a bit different, and it works to some extent. Personally, it will take me some time to get used to it.

One thing that really suprised me is the fact that the test DVD that didnt work earlier works perfectly with Vista. It definitely has better DVD drive support.

As an operating system, I’d give Vista a 7/10 (compared to Kubuntu’s 9/10 and XPs 7.5/10). As a beta, I can only hope that it gets better. There are some performance problems that need to be addressed.

technorati tags:

Blogged with Flock

Leave a Reply

