Feeding the Masses

February 6, 2007

I absolutely love Flock’s news reader. Hands down my favorite feature. Of any browser. Ever. I’ve got so many feeds I subscribe to it’s often hard to keep up with them during the day. Occasionally you just gotta trim it down.

Flock includes a fair amount of feeds spanning a variety of topics. Some seem to be thrown in for demographic Manifest Destiny of sorts, such as Cute Overload (which, for all you girls and sensies out there, I highly recommend this site for your daily allotment of “Aww”).

Some of the winners on my feed list include the Make Blog (included by default), Hack-a-Day, Destructoid, Kotaku, and The Onion. And of course, if you’ve got a blog and I know you personally or professionally, you probably make my top reading list.

Several blogs have fallen out of my favor. dvorak.org/blog (now, drink up!) has been in my feed list since I first started listening to TWiT, but as of late, I find that Digg, Joystiq, Engadget, Gizmodo, or one of many other tech blogs gets the scoop out a day or so before Dvorak does. Still, Dvorak and his crew have a very unique insight and perspective on tech news, so I’ll occasionally read his posts. Typically though, I mark them as Read as soon as I finish reading the headlines.

Additionally, the Scobleizer blog is starting to get on my nerves. Not because it isn’t fresh content or anything, but because more or less it feels like Scoble is just selfpromoting. Some may argue “But isn’t that what a blog is more or less?” Well, yeah. If it’s a personal blog. But Scoble’s is more of a tech news blog more than anything. Of course, there’s also the entire “scandal” surrounding his comment spam, but that doesn’t really bug me as much.

Bottom line is, feeds are wonderful. If you still have no clue what feeds are, or what I’m talking about, take a look at Wikipedia and then give Flock a try. I hear people saying that they couldn’t live without Bloglines, and Flock’s newsreader really goes one step further, making it even more critical to one’s two dot oh life support system.

Blogged with Flock

One Response to “Feeding the Masses”


  1. Thanks for the kind words! Keep on flockin’!

    -Evan Hamilton
    Flock Community Ambassador
    evan at flock dot com


Leave a Reply

