April to November

April 28, 2007

I am remembering a lot about my childhood in Texas, especially my sports life. I was a member of the Hornets soccer team, and we truly rocked. We had tons of practice and were extremely competitive in the local league. We even made it to the state finals, which was amazing. I played defense, and had the nickname “Shredder” because I shredded the other teams forwards to tiny bits. I can only remember a few of the other teammates nicknames. Rian was known as simply “Boot” because of his ability to blast the ball way up from the backfield. Brandon was known as “The Moose” because, well, I’m not sure. But he definitely scored almost all of our goals. There was also Tony, who was pure Italian stallion, and the coach’s son, and Eric, who was a really tiny dude who was as fast as he was short.

We played soccer, and we played soccer some more. When we were done with that, we played soccer. Year to year, our team remained the same, and we got progressively better. A year before I left Texas for Michigan, the team changed names, going from Hornets to Quicksilver. We were the same team, but for some reason, just a simple name change shifted our mindset, and we didn’t do as well as we had before.

I also played baseball. Kinda. By played, I guess one could infer that I was a part of a team, which I was. You could also assume that I contributed to the team, which I barely did.

I was a Bruise Brother.

My goal at bat was to get in the way of the ball and get on base by getting hit by the pitch. So I did. There were three Bruise Brothers. One was a tubby kid who was a BB because he couldn’t hit, and the other was kinda a crybaby type who somehow looked up to me. Throughout my baseball career I had only two hits (not including T-Ball). I played outfield, catcher and second base/shortstop. I loved second base. I was a vacuum. I sucked up ground balls. Line drives escaped me. Ground balls didn’t.

At least, that’s how I remember it.

That team also was the first time I met anyone with divorced parents. His name was Simm and he was kinda an oddball. He was the James Dean kinda kid that you know throughout grade school.

Anyways, it turns out that I am reminded of all of this because Solo got a Wii. Which meant Wii Sports Baseball.

Funny how that works…

Blogged with Flock

Leave a Reply

