Screw It – The Still Up List

June 10, 2007

Things I love at 3:00am

  • Hearing the plows go by, and then the graders as they clear snow from US41
  • Cooked and then refrigerated hot dogs
  • Slipping under the comforter to find cool, comfortable sheets
  • Coast to Coast AM on the radio
  • Thunderstorms
  • Waking up to realize: Oh, Jill is here. Awesome.
  • The sound and glow of an aquarium, fully planted
  • The sound of a window fan
  • The sound of a train passing a mile away
  • The smell of crockpot meals I can’t eat yet

Things I do not like at 3:00am

  • Waking up to the kind of drunken state that Nyquil puts me in
  • Fever dreams
  • Hypnogogic hallucinations. Basically, not being able to wake up out of a dream. It kinda is related to sleep paralysis, which I also occasionally suffer from. Thankfully, this is rare.
  • Leg cramps
  • Being awake when I have something to do the following morning
  • Listening to racial oriented Chicago radio shows.
  • Buzzing mosquitoes keeping me awake
  • The smell of crockpot meals I can’t eat yet

Blogged with Flock

Leave a Reply

