Horrible Fears

June 14, 2007

I have a fear of having a mentally retarded child. I know I shouldn’t because the child is, after all, still yours and still human, but it is one of those fears. I can’t actually think of many people who would gladly accept the news that their son or daughter is going to be mentally handicapped in some way. It is a challenge, and I have nothing but respect for parents who can undertake these challenges willingly and come out on the other side.

I just keep having these weird flashes to an episode of Scubs where Dr. Cox (played by John C. McGinley) notices that his friend’s son is autistic. Autism is a very odd disorder, and one that I still can’t fully wrap my head around no matter how many times I read descriptions of symptoms and the like.


Quinn, a boy with autism, and the line of toys he made before falling asleep (Via Wikipedia)

But when you see a scene like this, how can you not love your child?

I get too wrapped up inside about these issues. I honestly do not know what to feel other than love, and love seems to be a pretty good response to everything.

Blogged with Flock

Leave a Reply

