Why I cannot sleep tonight

July 3, 2007

I watched the movie, Se7en tonight. It is an odd, twisting psychodrama that is truly well cast, but it disturbs me to no end.

SPOILER ALERT (although this explains the reason I cannot sleep)

In the climax of the movie, the antagonist (John Doe, played by Kevin Spacey) leads the two protagonists (Morgan Freeman and Brad Pitt) out to a field to show them where his two final murders were. There is nothing in sight, but all of a sudden a delivery van screams down the dirt road. Freeman’s character stops the van, and asks what it is doing out in the middle of nowhere. The delivery guy says he has a package for Pitt’s character. At the same time, Pitt is being put through agony as Spacey plays with his mind, twisting words into blades and jabbing them deep into his heart. He claims to be envious of Pitt, which is why he tried to live like him that morning. He killed Pitt’s wife and unborn child (of whom, Pitt had not learned of yet), and reveals this to him. Pitt gets so visibly upset and distraught you honestly have no clue what is going to occur next. You believe he is either going to blast Spacey to bits or break down in complete despair, unable to do anything. At the same time, Freeman opens the box, only to find the head of Pitt’s wife. Freeman is taken aback, which shows a lot, since he is the “battle hardened” detective. As he runs over to try to keep Pitt from killing Spacey, it is too late. Pitt unloads an entire clip into Spacey and walks away.

END SPOILER

That is why I cannot sleep. I get these deep-seeded fears of the absolute worst happening to Jill, and whenever it becomes visible through some medium, I lock up in panic. I tremble at the thoughts that run through my head. There is no way for me to protect her now, not with this distance between us. What would I do? I don’t believe in gun ownership for private citizens (though I understand the constitutional right) and ownly have swords and knives as weapons (along with just about any object on hand)

Everything I need fits inside of my arms, and if she is ever ripped away maliciously, I think my will to live would be as well.

Onward to sleep and nightmares! For these are the manifestations of my fears in the unwaking world.

Blogged with Flock

Leave a Reply

