I Didn’t Lose the Game This Time!

December 7, 2007

We played the women’s club soccer team tonight in IM soccer, Last year we went in to a ridiculous shootout with them, and then, after 15 or some odd shots from both side failed to go in, went in to sudden death. I got kicked in the shin as the girl kicked the ball, and it deflected just right to get past SpiderBrad, our superheroesque goalie.

Tonight was different! I did not lose us the game. I didn’t win it either. But we all played amazing, and we has so many many many shots on goal. We shut them down defensively, but in the end we just couldn’t get lucky for 30 minutes. Ended in a 0-0 tie. I am a bit winded, but I feel great.

Tried to work on the Structures final project, but both me and Kevin, who are bouncing problems off each other, absolutely fall short when it comes to starting out a truss frame like the one given to us. Once we get started I think everything will go smooth, but that first bay of the truss is proving to be a white whale. For the record, we are using different bay heights so that we can’t copy each other’s work (I’m using 4′ and he 5′). I really wish I had gone with a height of 4’6″, because that would have squared everything out.

So my weekend is basically devoted to finishing that up. Just getting all of the truss members accounted for would be about 60% of the work done off the bat. Sean, a mechanical engineering buddy, swang by to try to show us how to do it, and I got it for a short time, and then it just confused me a ton.

Got a presentation in class tomorrow at 10, then homework to hand in at noon class since I was sick the past two days. After that, I’m coming back, working on the project some more, installing my video card (which SHOULD be here tomorrow) and checking internet resources to figure out my truss conundrum. Sometime in there I also have to hit up the gym (it’s cardio day for me tomorrow, for Lee and Solo its cardio and legs) and maybe make it out to the ski hill for their opening (free day of snowboarding, just have to bring in a non-perishable food item for a food drive to pay the price).
Sleep comes shortly.

Leave a Reply

