Searching Da Engines

December 7, 2007

Do a Google search on “Say Ya To Da U.P.” Go ahead. Click the link and all.

Now note the number three link. That’s me! Note the number four link. That’s the actual motto website!

Now search for Jack Thompson Sucks. Again, I show up pretty high in the list.

This just seems ridiculous to me. I like it but now I wish folks would migrate over to this blog now that I update it more often. The reading rate is going up steadily (I kinda wonder who reads it?) but it’s nowhere near what danakin.wordpress.com is like. And my food blog (which I try to keep updated lately, with two new recipes up this past week) is even going up in views.

It’s kinda egoblogging. But heck, I see it happen all the time; the difference is that some folks find it to be a source of authority (I AM INTERNET FAMOUS!) or they use it to actually get their voice out and let folks know how they feel. I look at Chris Messina’s blog as a prime example of the latter. Look at the amount of links to other articles and sources going out from his latest post (which I picked, due to the fact that I actually agree with him [a rarity!] and that it covers Flock a wee bit). Messina has advanced himself in a number of ways, and I have to surmise that his blog plays a part in it (to say nothing of his ideas on advancing technology).

So, let’s see what this blog turns into now that it is my primary. Technorati only gives me two authority, but that’s fine with me. I’m sure it will go up in some time.

4 Responses to “Searching Da Engines”


  1. You often disagree with me? That’s awesome! Why don’t you tell me more often? I’d be really curious to hear your thoughts… trackbacks, comments, whatev!

    And, good luck with this blog. Have you considered getting your own domain? That seems to be a good tactic as well…

  2. Lloyd Budd Says:

    I updated your address in my blog roll to this one.

    Really a rarity? I sometimes disagree with what he says, but seldom the kernel 😉

    I miss working with you,
    Lloyd

  3. Daniel Lackey Says:

    Maybe agree isn’t quite the right word. I guess it would be more appropriate to say I haven’t fully jumped on the OpenID/Auth and Microformats bandwagon. I do appreciate these advances, but I kinda fail to see a way to get widespread adoption as of yet. The idea is all there, now to draw in folks. Make it understandable to the average web-user.

    (Not to mention Chris is a bit too far left for my liking, but I’m more a moderate independent now [with right winger tendencies], so it kinda levels out somehow)

    @Chris, Once I have the time and money to throwback for hosting I am planning on getting our own domain. School is eating up a lot of both those commodities.

    @Lloyd, Thanks for updating the blogroll. Flock definitely isn’t the same without ya, buddy!


  4. […] (or: Anti-Microsoft is so Last Decade) Earlier I wrote about how I tend to disagree with Chris Messina a fair amount but occasionally we come to terms on a […]


Leave a Reply

