Michigan! Michigan!

December 17, 2007

I think I have expressed this before, but I really feel let down that I can’t travel through the UP to go home this time around. I’m a very tradition-bound person, and it just seems like missing this Christmas tradition that I have had for the past three years is gonna jinx something or other. I miss driving through the UP in the winter. I love heading through the twists and turns, and there are plenty of those that will stick in your mind. The sharp turning incline as you go through Baraga, passing what for years I thought was a statue of a snowshoeing Jesus (really just Bishop Baraga, who was a pretty interesting guy). Passing through by The Red Door, a seemingly abandoned antique and gift shop. Dropping by Teal Lake as you enter Ishpeming which, in the winter, is always home to a commune of ice fishermen. The curves of Champion. The forestry center at Alberta. Ascending and twisting and descending and back again. The flaming sunsets. The wildflower weeds. Entering the town of Christmas. The broken buildings and broken homes. And of course, The Bridge.

There are all sorts of musical traditions. Starting freshman year, Bakke and I listened to the same stuff on every trip down. This includes Mitch Hedberg (originally his first CD, later his second CD), Jimmy Eat World’s Clarity, and the Foo Fighters’ The Colour and the Shape and There is Nothing Left to Lose. I also have to listen to A Prairie Home Christmas

Added on to that now is Sufjan StevensGreetings From Michigan: The Great Lake State.

Clearly, my mind and heart are set on the UP right now. Unfortunately, I go my separate way for the first leg of the trip, and I only come up through the UP on the return trip.

Leave a Reply

