Immature

December 23, 2007

Call me immature, but I have an infatuation for the first series of Pokemon stuff. The original games were so out of the box that they are some of (if not the number one definitely the number one) best selling games of all time. It’s all about fun and grinding and getting that one stubborn Pokemon caught so you can complete your collection. The games were just magnificent. I have been stuck to FireRed (basically a remake of the original Red) all this break.

Not only that, but the first season of the Pokemon TV show was actually pretty good. Immediately you were emotionally attached to Ash and his Pikachu, and you actually wanted him to become a master of his craft. Funnily enough, after a few seasons the tagline “Gotta Catch ‘Em All” was dropped, because there was now way he was going to catch all of the Pokemon in the expanding realm of the series. I think he only ends up catching 53 total, and releases a good number of them.

Anyways, now I’m on the hunt for an original Game Boy and the first two original games. I never owned them. It’s that one Christmas present you always ask for but never got. For me it was a Game Boy and Pokemon Blue. I ended up playing Bakke’s copy, or borrowing the game and Game Boy from a guy named John Holden. That’s how I remember the game. Never having my own copy, but playing every chance I got.

So, I think I just lost any cool credibility about anything with this post, but I don’t really care. We all have our dark, guilty pleasures, mine happens to be a cult kiddy game named Pokemon.

Leave a Reply

