Short Placeholder Post While I Work

February 18, 2008

I often wonder how Catholics get by. They rely on the catechism so heavily that it seems that they have forgotten the Bible. The Catholic television station (EWTN) just reinforces this idea, as there is hardly ever talk of things Biblical, only that stemming from the catechism.

When I am done with all my work and exams tomorrow I can expand this Biblically, but for now, this will serve as a placeholder.

I am not trying to argue against Catholicism (discussion is something I long for, as iron sharpens iron), but  I do have a serious problem with the general state of the Catholic church in America being so tradition-bound that they become blind to the glory and love of God; even to the point of non-salvation! [Colossians 2:8 See to it that no one takes you captive through philosophy and empty deception, according to the tradition of men, according to the elementary principles of the world, rather than according to Christ.] This is not to say that Protestantism has no problems. Routine church-going does not a Christian make.

OK, this was supposed to be just a placeholder, and I have work to do, so I must stop short for now.

Leave a Reply

