Results are In…

February 27, 2008

I got a 99% on my “Career Documents” cycle for Technical and Scientific Communications. 198/200. Awesome. Now if only I could get Stats grades like that…

Also, check this out. I have lost 8 lbs in three weeks. This is what I looked like before I started exercising and eating right:

This was on February 10th, and I weighed 172 lbs.

This is this morning:

It is February 27th and I now weigh 164 lbs.

What I’m Doing:
It’s not that drastic of a lifestyle change really. First, I researched every little bit of weightloss/bodybuilding technique and information. I came up with a few key things:

  1. Water is crucial. Without sufficient water, your body retains what little you take in in fat. Also, by drinking plenty of water, your body will kickstart your metabolism again, and this will allow you to lose fat faster. I upped my intake from 1-2 8oz glasses a day to (now) about 90oz a day.
  2. Caloric intake is also crucial. Duh. You have to work off 3500 calories for every pound of fat. Do the math and you find that for each pound you want to lose per week you will need to work off 500 calories a day more than you consume.
  3. Exercise is critical. Another big duh. But seriously it is. You can’t just diet and expect results to last. You also won’t see results if you just jog/run la di da for an hour each day (ok, so you will, but they won’t be anything special). You have to push yourself. Make yourself drop to your knees, and then push yourself to go a bit farther. And cardio alone will not suffice. Sure, you’ll lose fat, but you want to look good, right? Alright, then lift. Yup. Lift. You don’t have to bulk up, but…
  4. Muscle is crucial as well. The more muscle you have on you, the more calories you burn at rest. While it might not seem like much (and I don’t truly believe it is that much), it will help. Think of it like a pH buffer. Your water in your tank is fluctuating up and down in pH so you add a buffer to lock that range in to a smaller range. Muscle is kinda the same thing in my book. You workout, you gain muscle intentionally, and that muscle helps you buffer your weight.
  5. Junk food is critical. What?! Yeah, I think it is. If you are on a low calorie diet, your body will kinda get used to it, and it will start to adjust to just burning off 1700 calories a day (or whatever you are taking in). By throwing in one day a week where you eat crappy, your body tells itself “Crap guys! We still have to work hard and burn off 2000 calories a day!” Not only that, but you probably won’t feel too great after the day of unhealthy food, and it will motivate you to keep eating healthy.

So specifics? Alright.

Diet:
Most days I eat a few high-protein meat melts.  So I’ll have basically a tuna sandwich with a slice of deli cheese on top of it, and put that in the Foreman grill to toast it. Each of these runs about 300 calories. I also eat a variety of fruit and veggies. Right now that consists of broccoli, fresh spinach (not out of a can), oranges, grapefruit, and celery. Some of that goes well with peanut butter, some doesn’t.

Additionally, I take a multivitamin each morning, and a protein powder drink after each workout. If you want to get the amount of protein you need (1g per pound of body mass [and it’s not lean body mass, as I thought, just body mass in general]), you almost have to supplement your protein intake. At 164lbs I need 164g of protein. Tuna has 27g per serving. I eat tuna or chicken three times a day, but it still isn’t enough. The extra 50g from the protein powder helps me get what I need.

And of course, I have a ton of water to go with all that.

Exercise:
I do a mix of things here. Basically, the majority of my “good” workout is Tae Kwon Do. I throw on my workout playlists (a mixture of hard rock, fast rock, metal, heavy trance, anything high energy/BPM) and start punching. The air. There is no resistance here, it is all my body against itself. I throw the hardest, fastest punches I can for as long as I can. I put up fast, hard blocks. I kick with as much power as I can muster. All in to the air. There are obvious drawbacks to this exercise setup if you look at it from a martial art view, but I get by. I am forced by the small corridor in my room that I workout in to be accurate, or ding my legs and arms up against the wooden loft frame.

I also use resistance tubing/bands to do weight lifting. This is basically shoulder presses, flys, curls and a few other exercises. I have dumbbells as well that I use for weightlifting.

Then there are the exercises that require no equipment. I do pushups. I do knuckle pushups on the hardwood. My knuckles hate me for it, but it’s a good thing. I do situps, crunches, leg lifts, and all those good old ab exercises. I do  hard downups, which is basically a squat, a pushup, and then a calf raise/jump.  And I also do pullups and chinups on my loft frame. I’m up to about 5 or 6 right now. 

So I feel pretty good about all that. Still have a long ways to go, but I’m getting there.

One Response to “Results are In…”

  1. Lloyd Budd Says:

    Yoda is watching over you. Great results so far!


Leave a Reply

